The Jungian Philosophy: Archetypes

May 13, 2021

Hello everyone,

As we have completed our discussion of the collective unconscious and introvert/ extrovert personality types, I will now be discussing the last major concept in personality brought up by Jung: Archetypes.

The concept of the archetypes relies on the concept of the collective unconscious. As mentioned in a previous blog post, the collective unconscious refers to a shared intelligence among all humans. Archetypes exist in this collective unconscious and dictate our personality and the way that we function. He believes that humans are predisposed to certain behavior traits that make them who they are. Jung said that there were four major archetypes: the persona, the shadow, the anima and the self. The persona is the way that we represent ourselves to the world or the facade that we play. The shadow is an area in our mind that is dedicated to our instincts and primal drives. The anima is considered the feminine side in a man and is used to destruct the concept of gender roles. Finally, the self is an area of our mind that combines both our conscious and unconscious minds. Jung believes that a mind can have many different archetypes but will typically have one ruling archetype.

This concludes the revision of Carl Jung’s 3 main ideas on behavior and personality!

3 Replies to “The Jungian Philosophy: Archetypes”

  1. Leo L. says:

    Hi Sreeya mentioning the shared intelligence is cool!

  2. Ria K. says:

    Hi Sreeya! This is really fascinating. Is there an archetype that is most common as the ruling one?

  3. Jordan C. says:

    That’s cool how there are classified parts of people’s being.

Leave a Reply